Stained Glass Windows

Stained Glass Windows

Did you know our gorgeous stained-glass windows were installed over many decades? The "Life of Christ" window over the altar (picture shown) was the first one in 1926 and it remains the only window by Harry Wright Goodhue in the state of Illinois. The large "Te Deum" window at the west end of the nave was completed in 1955 by the studio of Charles Connick. The last window to be installed in the nave features great preachers and teachers of the church and can be found in the north transept. It was created by the studio of Henry Willett in 1965. There is one final stained-glass window to be found in the sacristy which was installed in 1973.

Many of these windows are now beginning to show their age and are in desperate need of repairs. We have prioritized the work and will be getting several done this summer, with the goal of completing the rest of the first group over the next few years. The estimated cost for this work is $17,000 and we are asking for donations to help offset this expense. Please consider contributing to maintaining our historic worship space.


“The Life of Christ”, East Chancel Window, Harry Wright Goodhue, 1926

In Memory of Henry Noble Cooper


This is just one of our 70 something windows, most of which were originally sponsored by families and individuals of Emmanuel's rich history.